April Apéritifs

Best Bites of the Month

The NY Times just came out with their Top 100 Places to Eat in NYC and needless to say, I have thoughts and opinions. There are a few spots on there I don’t necessarily think deserve to be in the top 100, but there are even more places I’m eager to try. I have plans to visit a few over the next couple months before my summer travels hit their peak!

April has already been a month filled with new restaurants and reservations, so I’m going to use today’s newsletter to highlight April’s most memorable meals.

Best Bites of the Month:

  • Sushi Nakazawa

    • If I had to describe in two words: Luxurious Simplicity

    • A step up from my usual Sugarfish or Kazunori, Sushi Nakazawa is an elevated dining experience. Sit at the Sushi Bar so you can watch the chefs prepare each omakase piece precisely. My personal favorites were the hay-smoked yellowtail, fatty tuna, Otoro, and Uni.

  • Bad Roman

    • If I had to describe in two words: Whimsical Familiarity

    • Bad Roman lived up to the hype. The vibes were amazing, the drinks were strong and the appetizers were fun, interesting and tasty. I was super excited to try the Peperoncini martini, but it was a little too vinegary. Definitely a fun switch up from my normal cocktail order though. The pepperoni cups with ranch, garlic babka, gem casear salad and filet mignon with cacio e pepe ravioli were all to die for. It’s not the type of place I would frequent but definitely a fun switch up.

      • Save room for dessert here because the lemon cheesecake is unbelievable !!!

  • Grammercy Tavern: Dining Room

    • If I had to describe in two words: Seasonally Ceremonial

    • An institution, Grammercy Tavern has been on my hit list for a long time and just came in ranked #11 on the NY Times 100 Best Restaurants in NYC. The tasting menu, service, wine and ambiance are amazing. Highlights from the tasting menu include: golden beet tartar; pillowy, crispy gnocchi with mushrooms; duck breast and chocolate mousse with coconut ice cream. Making a mental note to come back here and try the burger and homemade potato chips in The Tavern.

Next on my hit list (and respective ranking on the NY Times 100 Best Restaurants in NYC)

  • I Sodi (64)

  • Rezdora (47)

  • Silver Apricot (53)

  • Torrisi (33)

  • Semma (12)

  • Shukette (20)

  • Jeju Noodle Bar (32)

Current Craves - Food Edition

  • The Joyfully Almond smoothie from Juice Generation <3

  • Wishbone Kitchen x Cava bowl!! Dying to try this - the collab of my literal dreams

  • Aeperol Spritz from Il Sogno Toscano for happy hour

  • Pop Up Bagels - just opened their new permanent location on Thompson St

    • their seasonal butter/cream cheese flavors are to die for, I need to get my hands on the ramp cream cheese!

That’s all for now!

Em