The Rebrand

Currently Craving - The Rebrand

Welcome to the first edition of the Currently Craving Newsletter! In this newsletter I’ll be sharing some of my favorite spots to eat in New York/during my travels, recipes I’m loving and things I’m obsessing over. If you know me, you know I’m always thinking about food — whether it comes to cooking, eating out, snacking or grocery shopping. In this newsletter I’ll be sharing all of that and more.

In this edition, I’ll be highlighting my all time favorite spots to eat in New York City.. perfect for a weekend itinerary for visitors or foodies who call the city home. These spots are my go to recommendations, so if you’ve ever asked me for a rec chances are these might look familiar.

New York is home to some of the best food in the world. If you can’t find it here.. odds are you can’t find it anywhere. Living in the city, I’m constantly planning my next meal and scouting out new places to try.

My favorite spots are listed below, but you can also find them on my Instagram guide here. Make sure to vote in the NYC Restaurant March Madness poll I have up on my stories!

Thursday Kitchen – An all time fave. Great for groups because it’s all family style, small tapas-inspired plates. This is my favorite restaurant in the city. I promise it’s really that good. No reservations, so be prepared to go early or put your name down and find a spot nearby to grab a drink.

Must order: the truffle mac n cheese, popcorn chicken, truffle edamame dumplings and steak.

Truffle Mac. Love.

Thai Diner – Amazing fusion of Thai and American cuisine that always keeps you guessing and might be some of the best food I’ve ever had. Reservations are limited so snag one if you can, but there’s also room for walk-ins. The decor and the setting are as curated as the menu. 10/10.

Must order: Khao Soi Kaa Kai changed my life. If you can only get one thing – MAKE IT THIS. Disco Fries are fun. Phat See Ew with Fried Chicken is also delish and captures the essence of this place perfectly.

Khao Soi Kaa Kai - the chicken is soft and juicy and I could quite literally swim in this broth.

Don Angie – Not for the faint of heart. This Michelin Star, Italian Restaurant in the West Village lives up to the hype. Getting a reservation is like an olympic sport. That being said, it might be the best lasagne on planet earth.

Must order: Obviously The Lasagne (capitalized because she is the star of the show) but honorable mention to the Stuffed Garlic Flatbread and Chrysanthemum salad.

The famous cheese pull

Ume – This place is so special. If you’re looking for an experience or a place to celebrate a special occasion go to Ume. Like the website says “Ume does not set out to be authentically anything. It’s its own concept with its own artistic and culinary direction.”

Must order: Ume is a prix fixe menu, inspired by the founder’s travels. The menu changes constantly — they may serve charcoal salt from Reyjkavik one day, the next citrus salt from Casablanca and then Sea Kelp Salt from Hakodate. So I can’t guarantee what they’ll have on the menu, but I can guarantee it’ll be an experience you won’t forget.

The spread @ Ume. Everyone get’s their own board, it’s artful.

Tompkins Square - No list would be complete without the city’s best breakfast sandwich. Be prepared to wait in line, but just know it’s worth it. Weekends aren’t complete without a trip to Tompkins Square.

Must order - There’s endless types of cream cheese and sandwich combinations here, but the egg & cheese sandwiches are the standout to me. You really can’t go wrong.

Pumpernickel Bagel with egg white, swiss, avocado & hot sauce !

Next on my hit list:

  • I Sodi

  • Chez Ma Tante

  • Golden Diner

  • Sushi Nokazawa

  • Llama San

  • Rubirosa

  • Semma

Current Craves - Food Edition

  • I’m obsessed with all things Wishbone Kitchen (I suggest stalking her Tik Tok if you haven’t) I’ve been eyeing the recipes on her website and in her ebooks. Her Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe is amazing, and I definitely recommend if you’re looking for something to bake.

  • PopUp Bagels! Fresh and delicious bagels with specialty cream cheese and butter flavors. We ordered a dozen with Maple Butter and Herby Everything Cream Cheese - definitely recommend ordering from their location on 18th st in Chelsea

  • This Sesame Orange Cauliflower is soo good. Pro tip: make extra sauce and use it for chicken/rice to serve with the cauliflower.

  • Banana Bread!!!!! I’m working on a recipe for this currently that I’ll be posting. I’m definitely a better cook than baker, but there’s just something about fresh banana bread with an afternoon iced latte that I really love.

Current Craves - Everything Edition

  • Summer !! I have so many foodie travel plans coming up, so stay tuned for more newsletter travel content (spoiler alert: Aspen, The Hamptons, Italy and more)

  • Making my own cold brew (I use this cold brew maker and these are my fave coffee grounds) and meal prepping breakfast sandwiches for work. Makes my life 10x easier, healthier and also cheaper.

  • I just finished reading Mad Honey & loved it if anyone’s looking for a good book

  • John Mayer on repeat until the sun comes out & it’s officially spring

That’s all for now. See you in the next newsletter!

Em