Soup Szn Incoming

Friday Newsletter

It’s been a minute, but I’m back!

With Soup Season (better known as fall) quickly approaching and labor day behind us, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to recount my top ten eats of the summer and let you know what I’m looking forward to most in the upcoming months.

I closed out the summer doing what I do best - eating, cooking, traveling, sipping, spritzing, and farmer’s marketing. Oh, and pretending to be Wishbone Kitchen (if you haven’t made her infamous Tomato Galette recipe yet what are you doing?)

Kicking off my top ten eats of the summer, naturally the Wishbone Kitchen Tomato Galette reigns in at the Number Ten spot

Number Nine belongs to the Affogato at Cafe Vivoli in Florence. Freshly brewed velvety espresso poured over creamy vanilla gelato under the Italian sun = magic in a cup I swear

chugging the affogato in question

Number Eight Clam Bar Lobster Roll - I prefer hot over cold but I’m not a mayo girly

Number Seven belongs to Pop Up Bagels - specifically the Jennifer Fisher Salty Spicy Everything Cream Cheese x Bagel combo. I hate to be that person that says I discovered this before the hype, but the instagram receipts back me up on this one - I posted them back in early May

Number Six L’industrie Pizza - Fig Jam & Bacon slice has my heart

Number Five Misi - always outstanding and just an elite culinary experience. I’m dying to visit their new grocery/casual location

Number Four Roscioli - a new addition to the NYC food scene, I’ve only been to the location in Rome but it is phenomenal

Number three Librae Bakery - I dream about the Za’atar Morning Bun and Jerusalem Bagel daily

Number two Duryea’s Cobb Salad - I finally tried this infamous $97 dollar salad.. yes you read that right. It’s delicious and piled high with fresh lobster meat, served over gem lettuce with all the necessary cobb toppings. Summer wouldn’t have been complete with her

Number One Osteria Pastella - specifically the fresh tagliatelle made table-side in a cheese wheel and loaded with fresh truffle shavings. Pasta made in a cheese wheel is the best of the best. No contest - best thing I ate the entire summer.

& lastly I’ll leave you off with some quick fun foodie news:

  • Milk Bar X Cheetos is the collab no one asked for and no one needed…

  • On the other hand Sweetgreen x Renee Rapp is the collab everyone needed

  • Pop Up Bagels x Bowery Farming Basil Pesto Butter !!!!! I need this

  • Ruby’s is coming to the West Village - huge win for the west side girlies 

  • Edith’s BK is doing a pop up in Tribeca

    • so you no longer need to trek to Brooklyn to try the infamous coffee tahini slushee

Xoxo, Em